Corrected draft · suggested fixes applied · amber = changed text, number = review item

Kathleen MacDonald High School
CEEB Code: 226862
3588 Zanker Rd, San Jose, CA 95134 · (669) 369-4400
macdonald.santaclarausd.org
Nelson Hori, Principal · Dr. Damon J. Wright, Superintendent
SCHOOL PROFILE 2026–2027

Principal

Nelson Horinhori@scusd.net

Vice Principals

Teresa Posas (A–L)tposas@scusd.net

Jean Wang (M–Z)jewang@scusd.net

Counselors

Katie Bennett (A–Gn)kbennett@scusd.net

Daniela Azuela (Go–O)dazuela@scusd.net

Richard Mendoza (P–Z)rmendozajr@scusd.net

Accreditation

WASC Initial Accreditation 2022–2023

Graduation Rates

Class of 2026: 99%

Faculty

52 teachers

Enrollment Data

12th:205

11th:218

10th:196

9th:240

Total students859

School Year

  • 180 days
  • Two 18-week semesters
  • Modified Block Schedule

Our Community

MacDonald High School is located in north San Jose, in the heart of Silicon Valley. The South Bay is home to nearly 2 million residents and many globally recognized companies. San Jose, the largest city in the South Bay, has a population of nearly 1 million. MacDonald is located near several of the largest and most influential technology companies in the global market, including NVIDIA, Cisco Systems, AMD, and Applied Materials, and is just three miles from Levi's Stadium.

Our School

MacDonald High School is a comprehensive, coeducational public high school in San Jose, California, United States. It is one of three comprehensive high schools in the Santa Clara Unified School District (SCUSD). MacDonald received initial accreditation from the Western Association of Schools and Colleges (WASC) through the 2025–2026 school year. MacDonald is currently in a WASC review year, with a visiting committee scheduled to visit our campus in March 2027.

MacDonald High School opened at the start of the 2022–23 school year with only a ninth-grade class. Since then, the school has added one grade level each year. In June 2026, MacDonald graduated its first senior class.

Academic Programs

MacDonald High School was founded as an art and design school. We currently offer a Computer Science pathway, an Engineering & Design pathway, and an Art pathway. The Engineering & Design pathway launched last year. Product Design is the second course of this pathway.

We currently offer 16 AP classes and two Honors classes. Most of our teachers use a standards-based grading system. Additionally, we're a fully inclusive school where students with disabilities are served in general education or co-taught classes.

Grading & Transcript Interpretation

Our students earn credits and final grades at the end of the first and second semesters. During the year, they receive a quarter report and two progress reports before final exams. On our transcripts, classes that meet the University of California's A–G requirements are noted with a "p" next to the course, indicating that the class is college preparatory. These grades then factor into a student's college eligibility GPA.

In addition, all AP and some Honors courses are given extra weight toward the GPA. This is noted with a "+" sign next to the course. We do not rank students, per district policy.

Students take 6 classes, with an option for a 7th.

Semester Grading

First Semester08/10/26 – 12/18/26

Second Semester01/05/27 – 06/04/27

Class RankNone

GPA Scale0–4.0

Grading: A, B, C, and D are passing grades; (M) = modified grade (special education).

Demographics

Hispanic or Latino44.9%

Asian (non-Hispanic)19.7%

Filipino11.6%

White11.2%

Multiracial8.2%

African American3.4%

Pacific Islander0.1%

Native American0.4%

Special Populations

English Learners11.9%

Students with Disabilities16.9%

Graduation Requirements ’27

Students must earn 230 credits in the following subject areas along with 20 hours of community service:

Subject AreaYearsCredits
English440
Math220
Social Science330
Science220
Foreign Lang.110
Fine Artssem.5
Practical Artssem.5
Fine/Practicalsem.5
PE220
Healthsem.5
Electives—65
Total225

Test Scores

AP Scores: May 2026

  • 313 students took 550 tests
  • 71% scored 3 or higher

College-Going Rates: Class of ’26

UC11.2%

CSU18.3%

Private/Out-of-State7.1%

International1.0%

Community College49.2%

Other / not reported13.2%

Silicon Valley Career Technical Education (SVCTE)

SVCTE is the regional career technical education program for Santa Clara County. SVCTE offers state-of-the-art programs taught by industry professionals who engage students in rigorous, real-world academics and skills development designed to support their success through college and in their future careers. Students who take classes here take the equivalent of three class periods at SVCTE and three or four classes at MacDonald. Many of these classes meet the A–G college requirements.

State Seal of Biliteracy (SSB)

The State Seal of Biliteracy (SSB), marked by a gold seal on the diploma or transcript, recognizes high school graduates who have attained a high level of proficiency in speaking, reading, and writing one or more languages in addition to English. At MacDonald, we offer both American Sign Language and Spanish.

State Seal of Civic Engagement (SSCE)

The State Seal of Civic Engagement (SSCE) is awarded to California public school students who demonstrate excellence in civics education and participation, and an understanding of the United States Constitution, the California Constitution, and the democratic system of government. By adopting these criteria, California joined a small but growing number of states that formally recognize and promote student civic engagement with seals to affix to student transcripts, diplomas, or certificates of completion.

AP / Honors Class Offerings

English

  • + AP English Language
  • + AP English Literature

Math

  • + Algebra 2 with Precalculus Honors
  • + AP Statistics
  • + AP Calculus AB
  • + AP Calculus BC

Social Science

  • + AP US Government
  • + AP US History
  • + AP World History
  • + AP Psychology

Science

  • + AP Biology
  • + AP Chemistry

Foreign Language

  • + Spanish 3 Honors
  • + AP Spanish Language
  • + AP Spanish Literature

Visual Arts

  • + AP Drawing

Computer Science

  • + AP Computer Science Principles
  • + AP Computer Science A

2023–2024 Courses

  • + AP European History*
  • + AP 3D Art
  • + Precalculus/Trigonometry Honors

+ indicates weighted grade  ·  * no longer offered

Editor notes — copy review, not school text

  • 26 · credit total. The areas listed sum to 225; the sentence says 230. The table now shows the arithmetic (225) so the two cannot disagree silently — decide whether a line gains 5 credits or the sentence changes.
  • 28 · college-going rates. The five published categories total 86.8%. "Other / not reported 13.2%" is a placeholder for the missing categories (gap year, military, workforce, unknown) — replace it with the real breakdown.
  • 29 · foreign language. One year is the graduation minimum; UC A-G expects two. Worth one clarifying clause so the column is not read as the college-prep requirement.